Ally eCheck Deposit: Frequently Asked Questions

We recently released Ally eCheck DepositSM, a convenient way to deposit checks into your Online Savings, Interest Checking or Money Market accounts. Some of you have had questions about eCheck Deposit, so we’ve put together a list of Frequently Asked Questions to guide you through the eCheck Deposit process. And if you don’t see an answer you need here, be sure to check out our eCheck Deposit Demo and eCheck Deposit Overview for more answers to your eCheck Deposit questions.

What do I need to write on the check to ensure my eCheck Deposit is accepted?
There are three things that you must write on the back of your check:

  • Your signature
  • The phrase “For Ally eCheck Deposit Only”
  • Your account number

Your check will not be accepted if any of these things are missing. Please double-check your account number to ensure it doesn’t contain any errors. If the check is made out to more than one person, each person must endorse the check, as well as be listed on the account. We do this to protect you from having that check deposited in any other account or by any other person. It helps you keep track of where that check was deposited until you destroy it (after 60 days).

How do I know if my deposit has been accepted?
You will receive an email alert letting you know if your check has been accepted. If you make a deposit before 4 p.m. E.S.T., and the deposit is accepted, you should see the funds in your account the next day. Of course, this is subject to funds availability, which you’ll find in your email and in your deposit agreement. Email alerts regarding rejected deposits are sent at noon and 6 p.m. E.S.T. each day.

Remember that we don’t accept money orders or third-party checks through eCheck Deposit.

I submitted my deposit, but I received an error message. What should I do?
If you received an error message saying that “the image is too narrow” or that the Wizard “can’t read account, check, or routing transit number,” hit the “Undo” button on the page, and manually re-crop the check image. Be sure that the image you are submitting is a JPG, not a PDF, and has a resolution of at least 200 d.p.i.

I’m still having problems using eCheck Deposit. Does it have something to do with my computer?
Make sure you have the most current version of Java installed on your computer. We’ve also found that eCheck works best with the browsers Internet Explorer 7 and 8, Firefox and Chrome. Mac OS users might need to use the manual-upload system, described in eCheck Deposit’s Help section, for eCheck Deposit to work.

If you aren’t automatically offered use of the Wizard, you should review the scanner settings on the Get Started page, under Review Settings. If you’re using a compatible operating system and scanner, you should find an option to use the Wizard.

My eCheck Deposit has been rejected, and it looks like I need to mail it in. Where should I send it?

Send any rejected checks to this address for deposit:

Ally Bank
Attention: eCheck Services
P.O. Box 951
Horsham, PA 19044

Have you used eCheck Deposit to deposit a check into your Ally account? Do you have any questions we haven’t answered about using eCheck Deposit?

External Link Image Label Links to non-Ally websites

We provide links to third-party websites for your convenience. Although we provide a link, Ally Financial is not responsible, nor can we guarantee their products, services, or information. We suggest you review their online policy and security practices to learn about this third party and how they handle consumer information.


  1. 3
    Rebecca & rick Dodd

    We deposited our payroll check as an echeck, and we could not see on our account at all, or even that we had a pending echeck. Is this normal? I surely would think that you would show this transaction on my account. I am not sure that is was received. please respond.

    • 4

      We’ll send you an email notification letting you know that your check has been received, Rebecca and Rick. Also, if you upload your check before 4pm, you should be able to see your funds in the account online by the next business day. Please let us know if you are having any issues or any other questions!

  2. 5
    robert bayer

    would you list the mechanics of using this form of deposit?
    ie: scan both sides of the check ? send two attachments ?
    Make it simple for an old guy……thanks rb

  3. 7

    Ally is the best bank I’ve had the pleasure of dealing with. Please keep up the good work in the new year!

    Also, have you guys considered making an official mobile app? I would LOVE it if you could take a picture of a check to eDeposit (like PayPal and Schwab are doing).


  4. 9
    David G

    Was hoping to see mention of an Android app in here. Looks like I’m still mailing my check in because I don’t have a scanner. When can we use our phones! *sigh*

  5. 11
    Cali Girl

    I deposited two check to e-check for the same amount from two different payees. Neither were third-party, foreign payee or any other prohibited transaction, yet Ally accepted one and rejected the other. It has been 2 weeks and Ally still can’t tell me which was accepted and which was rejected, or why. Luckily the dollar amount is small. Why aren’t the electronic images available to both the customer and Ally customer service?

    • 12

      We’re sorry for the inconvenience, and want you to know that we will be passing your comment along to the team over here. We’re continuing to make improvements on our Ally eCheck Deposit feature, so feedback like this is very helpful. As for the check that was not accepted, if you could send us your contact information and best time to reach you over to we’ll have someone on our end reach out to you directly. Thanks again for your feedback.

  6. 14

    USAA has an iPhone app that lets you make deposits using your iPhone camera. This is much easier and quicker than using a scanner. Any chance you might implement this?

  7. 20

    Please improve the robustness of the manual upload. It is too fragile and based on 1990s scanner standards (DPI, etc). The future is digital photography, not scanners. My *failure* rate is > 90% on Ally while with Paypal’s (better) check-uploader it is 0%.

  8. 22
    Drew T

    This is a great start. Is there any chance of getting an iPhone app now? I’d love to be able to take a photo of the check, much like I do for my Chase account now.

    • 27

      If you can, please share with us any issues you had here, Bill. It would be helpful as we continue to make improvements to Ally eCheck Deposit

    • 30

      You can deposit a check to your account (using Ally eCheck Deposit or US postal) as long as the name on the check and the name in the account area are able to be matched. So if your name is James Smith, and your check is written to Jimmy Smith, we’ll take that; however, if you mean that you are taking a check written to Bob Brown, who endorses it over to Jimmy Smith, we won’t take third party endorsements.

  9. 31

    This is a great forum, about a great idea, but something important is missing: How do we do remote capture deposits?? I don’t have the faintest idea where or how to do it, or what equipment to use, which I probably don’t have?


  10. 35

    All in all, this seems like a good idea poorly executed.

    I tried to deposit a bank-issued check with this system 3 weeks ago and it simply would not accept the check. The program insisted that the proportions of the check were incorrect. (It’s a bank-issued check, so it’s slightly longer than a personal check.) I tried using the cropping tool–which has a tiny viewing window and seems to have been based on a CAD program from 1982–but could never get the system to accept the check.

    Now, I have a check I need to deposit by mail, but that is labeled in ink “For Ally eCheck Deposit Only,” so I certainly can’t deposit it with another bank… and I might have problems depositing it with Ally.

    I’m pretty happy with Ally in general, but so far, this application is a disappointment.

  11. 36

    Also, I found it difficult to get a reasonable level of clarity in the image and still meet the constraints for file size. It could be good to increase the limit on the size of files.

  12. 39
    DEnnis Finnan

    I’ve been using echeck deposits now for quite some time. Every time I used it, it was accepted and fast. I really like this service, so much that I closed all my other bank services near my home for Ally. Keep up the good work and good interest rates too.

  13. 41

    I have been using the Ally eCheck deposit system since it was first offered and after you get the hang of it you can go through the whole process in about 5 min. It’s actually really easy and very convenient.

  14. 49
    Dan H.

    Sounds like a good idea, but I spent a little time trying to get an explanation of how to use it, to no avail. Local banks make it simple and frankly, I don’t have the patience to mess with stuff that isn’t easy and straight forward.

  15. 51

    Can’t I take a photo of the front and back of my check (with a very good digital camera) and upload to send to you to deposit my check? I do mystery shopping that usually requires the submission of a receipt, and that’s how I send them the receipt, since I don’t have a scanner. There’s never been a problem.

    • 52

      We won’t tell you that you “can’t” but of course it’s not recommended since the demo and upload process have been optimized for scanner, Doris.

  16. 53

    this is something i dont appreciate and that is if you go negative couple of times ally takes away the echeck deposit feature and that is not fair to people in the west coast trying to make their accounts in the positive…like to deposit recycle checks that is not right

    • 54

      Thanks for your feedback on this, Sharon. We continue to make improvements to our Ally eCheck Deposit process and will definitely pass your feedback along to the team over here.

  17. 55

    My account is not eligible. I guess because I have been negative in the past. But, I have already endorsed my checks as instructed for eCheck Deposit. Can I go ahead and mail them to you even though they are endorsed with eCheck??

  18. 57
    Trevor M.

    Tried this a few times. Worked great 50% of the time. For the other deposits I was told could not “process” for different reasons. This set the deposit process time back a day or two. Convenience is the name of this game and this process has not been very convenient.
    I see the iPhone app is coming, how about android?
    I will mail in my deposits until ally can figure this out (although, I have asked for envelops months ago and they still have not arrived).

  19. 59
    Ron H

    I just attempted my first eCheck deposit, and am appalled by the execution of this feature.

    I’m running a Mac (Snow Leopard) using Safari. I’m a software developer, so I’m not an idiot when it comes to computers.

    First: Requiring me to set my browser and Java to 32-bit mode is unacceptable. Why should I negatively impact the performance of my system for a single application? This is the 21st century: 64-bit operating systems are here to stay. Why is Ally rolling out a brand new service using last-decade technology?

    Second: After waiting around a while for the TWAIN applet to load, I was informed I would need to install Rosetta. What?? Rosetta is only necessary for running PowerPC applications! Apple switched to Intel in 2006, folks. Any “new feature” dependent on PowerPC-emulation is already obsolete.

    Third: Once I refused to install Rosetta, I was finally given the option to upload my check images manually — which all I wanted to do in the first place! Why can’t I simply skip the 32-bit Java applet and the “wizard” from 2006, and go straight to a simple web page for uploading JPEGs??

    I opened an Ally account months ago when eCheck was first announced (but not released) hoping that eCheck deposit would allow me to close my brick-and-mortar account. Now that I finally have a chance to use it, I’m thinking I shouldn’t have bothered.

    • 60

      We’re really sorry for any inconvenience, Ron, but we really do appreciate all of the details you provided in your comment. We will be getting your comments in front of the right people over here. We are continuing to make improvements to Ally eCheck Deposit, and rolled the service out in phases to our customers so we could tweak it as we heard feedback. Thanks again for your comment!

  20. 61
    Dayna M

    I’m sorry but this is honestly one of the worst systems I have ever used. I do everything precisely according to the instructions (which are, for the record, much more laborious than other banks’ remote deposit systems), and still have a success rate of MAYBE 15%. I don’t know why I still even try. I am so disappointed in this service, especially after waiting so long.

    • 62

      We’re sorry for the inconvenience, Dayna. We had a blog post highlighting feedback we have heard from other customers, and giving the address to submit your check via mail if you need to:

      We’re continuously making improvements to Ally eCheck Deposit, so any feedback you have is definitely appreciated. Thanks again for your comment.

  21. 63

    HUGE problems with eDeposit for me, too. Was just told by customer service that Business/Corporate checks flat out do not work.

    All documentation on the site says they do work with corporate/large format checks.

    This was the reason I opened the account in the first place – I have to mail checks to my other bank and I was sick of it.

    Will be cancelling my accounts as soon as I can – but now I have to deposit my stupid checks because they have Ally written all over the back!!!

    • 64

      We’re sorry for the inconvenience, Andrea. We’ll have someone from our AllyCare team reach out to you for this issue. We’re continuously working on our Ally eCheck Deposit feature and so your feedback is appreciated.

  22. 65

    This was my first time using eCheck Deposit, so my first step was to consult the demo and overview to see how to do it. There didn’t seem to be any explanation of how to get started, ie where to find the Scanner Wizard. I did find it pretty easily by poking around on my account page, but it would be helpful to have that info in the demo and overview also.
    It took me a few tries to get my check to be accepted. The issue seemed to be how well I cropped the check, and the size and position of the scanner hints. It might be helpful to include tips on how to improve chances of success; I got the impression from the guide that the system wouldn’t be that sensitive to slight mistakes.
    Overall, the system was intuitive and easy to use, thanks! I’m looking forward to future improvements.

    • 66

      Great to hear, Auloria and thanks for the feedback! We will be getting your comments in front of the right people over here. We are continuing to make improvements to Ally eCheck Deposit, and rolled the service out in phases to our customers so we could tweak it as we heard feedback. Thanks again for your comment!

  23. 67

    I made a deposit on Saturday morning. I never received an email saying it had been accepted, or one saying it had been rejected. Would I have seen the funds in my account by now? Should I try to use echeck to deposit it again? I am on Mac OS.

  24. 68

    I deposited two check from a friend that bounced because he forgot to make a transfer in time. As a result, I can’t deposit anything with eCheck for six months. That’s pretty miserable, Ally.

  25. 70

    I made the comment back on 12/29 about problems with my corporate checks and NO ONE has gotten in touch with me. I have to get these things deposited – and really, going back to HSBC is looking better all the time.

  26. 72
    Tony Chirillo

    Major problems using echeck deposit today, first on PC. Kept receiving an error that check images could not be processed. Have used the same scanner before with no issues. 2ed, tried to upload check images on new Mac Book Pro, still problems. “but different” When I attempt to scan the scan the check on the MacBook (same with FireFox and Safari) All I received was the page with the circle going around and around and it never progressed to the next step. Are there problems with the system currently? I called customer service and was told a tech would call me back shortly. (which still has not occurred, 1/2 day later) Can someone from Ally help?

  27. 74
    Christopher Smallwood

    I deposited a check throug echeck on Saturday and did not receive an email. I printed the confirmation page. Today, I contacted Ally by chat to know the status. The representative told me there was no record of my deposit. I was told to deposit again. I did it again and hope it works!

  28. 75

    I haven’t used eCheck yet, but am curious, because there seems to be conflicting information between your website, this blog, and your Deposit Agreement. On the website, it says and I quote, that if the eCheck is deposited before 4pm EST, “Fast access to your money – see your deposit in your account the next business day.” However, the Deposit Agreement says that $100 is in your account the next business day, and the rest is in your account on the second business day. So which is it? I don’t know if I can wait 2 business days (which is up to 4 days if I get paid on a Friday) to have access to my paycheck. Thank you in advance!

  29. 76
    ron sid

    One week ago I contacted Ally to see why my account was not eligible for E check. I have excellent credit and am now very frustrated that nobody will call me back and fix this problem. I have called now 4 times in a one week period. Please somebody there help my situation.

    • 77

      We’re sorry for the inconvenience, Ron. Passing this along to our team over here. Someone should be in contact with you shortly. Thanks for your patience. cc: @AllyCare

  30. 78

    I am glad Ally has the echeck deposit feature, but I am incredibly frustrated with it. I have kept a Wells Fargo account for deposited cash and checks (non-direct deposit stuff), but I’m unable to use that because an ATM went out of service as I gave it my card. So I was forced to use Ally’s check deposit feature… well over an hour later and I still could not deposit my check. I am not a computer illiterate person and followed every step/rule to a T. I could never get past the “check is too narrow” error. The image looked perfectly fine – straight, readable, etc. Even after contacting a representative, I was unable to resolve the problem. Now, I have a check that needs to be deposited ASAP, yet the back of it reads “For Ally eCheck Deposit Only” and has my account number on it. Please have the IT department take a look at this feature. It is ridiculous for it to be this difficult.

  31. 80

    ^I am having the same problem as Jen. Your software seems to only work with business sized bank checks. Personal checks get the “check is too narrow” problem far too often! Please tell your team to change the tolerance limits of the size of the image!!

    • 81

      Thanks for your feedback, Doug. We’re passing this along to our team over here. Feedback like this will definitely help in improving the Ally eCheck Deposit feature. Thanks again!

  32. 82

    Writing your account number on the check is archaic! If I’m depositing it into my account, THAT is my account number, do NOT make me look up your “key code” for the account number which I could not give a flying care about in the world!

    WHEN is this going to be on iPhone?

    • 83

      Thanks for your feedback, LD. Passing it along to our team over here. The Ally eCheck Deposit feature for mobile is expected to be included in the second mobile rollout, scheduled for later this year. Look out for updates on our Straight Talk blog.

  33. 84

    Your eCheck system is absolutely infuriating. Have had some success, but within the past week, I’ve had no luck trying to deposit checks. What is going on? I’ve tried 3 different browsers at different times of day. It gets to the spinning wheel on the second page after entering amounts and checked boxes, and then never proceeds.

    • 85

      We’re sorry for the inconvenience, Brad, and are passing your feedback to our team over here. We’re continuing to work on the Ally eCheck Deposit feature and your feedback will help us with that process. In the meantime, the Ally eCheck Deposit FAQ page might help resolve any issues you may be having: If you continue having trouble, please call us 24/7 at 1-877-247-2559. Thanks!

  34. 86

    It amuses me that this page amounts to 6+ months of “eCheck Deposit doesn’t work very well” and 6+ months of “We’re sorry, there’s something better coming eventually, meanwhile, call us.”

    We don’t want eCheck Deposit to be an opportunity to call and talk to someone. We’re not lonely. We want it to be an easy way to deposit checks.

    I’m setting a deadline. If eCheck still doesn’t work reliably and the mobile app isn’t doing photo deposits by my birthday,

  35. 88

    Your system is so infuriating. I had the cheques the same size, to the pixel, and yet still my back is apparently too wide and tall.

    I upload the same image after getting “can’t see routing number” and it randomly works. I still haven’t uploaded one cheque.

    That’s pretty sad.

    • 89

      We’re sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you, Allie but we appreciate your feedback. We’re always looking to improve Ally eCheck deposit and feedback like yours will help with that process.

  36. 90

    I am having trouble uploading my scanned check (back) image. (I have uploaded and successfully deposited many identical checks thus far.) I successfully upload the check front image, but when I try to upload the check back image, I keep receiving an error message: “Please validate that the file you uploaded contains the back image.” The image is definitely the correct image. The file also meets all the guidelines/parameters. My operating system, web browser, etc. are all set up properly. I have tried everything, but nothing seems to work; your system just refuses to recognize my check back image. What is going on here?

    • 91

      We’re sorry for any inconvenience the Ally eCheck Deposit feature may have caused you, Rob and are passing this along to our team over here. If you’re still having issues, please give our Ally Care team a call 24/7 at 1-877-247-2559 and we’ll have someone assist you with this.

    • 93

      We’re sorry for the inconvenience, Josh. Please give our Ally Care team a call 24/7 at 1-877-247-2559. We’ll have someone help you with your issue.

    • 95

      Our team is working hard on improving the Ally eCheck Deposit feature, Debbie. We’ll continue to keep our community in the loop.

  37. 96

    Definitely having issues for the first time after several successful e-deposits… I hope you get your problems figured out.
    The error I am getting now is “Please validate that the file you uploaded contains the back image.” and I can say that indeed I have validated that it contains the back image… seriously, just let me upload it and accept it!! It is indeed the back of my check.

    Second, the fact that this is not on the phone app yet is ABSURD. seriously, the phone has a very high resolution camera, and it would be much easier than requiring the use of a computer and scanner.

    Thank you for continuing to consider these issues, and please resolve them quickly or else I will strongly consider switching banks, again…

  38. 97

    I’m having the same problem as Rob and Josh, still, over one week later. Both on mac and PC in both IE and Firefox.
    “Please validate that the file you uploaded contains the back image.”
    Validated. Please accept my upload.

    • 99

      We’re sorry for the inconvenience, Travis. Please give our Ally Care team a call 24/7 at 1-877-247-2559. We’ll have someone help you with the issue.

  39. 100

    Hello Ally,

    It would be nice to have a reply already. A lot of time has passed. What is the status with this issue? I just want to cash my checks before they expire.


  40. 101

    I’m having the same problem as everyone else. Also funny that I posted on here last week and Ally deleted my post.

    Here’s some straight talk: Ally, is the most inconvenient bank account I’ve ever had. Your check deposit issues have caused me to have to go open a local bank account so I can deposit checks. Guess what, they will be getting the rest of my business too.

    • 102

      Chris, we’d love to help you out here. Our Ally Care team at 1-877-247-2559, will be able to help you with your issue. They’re available 24/7. Thank you for your feedback and let us know if you have any questions.

  41. 103

    Just tried to do my first eCheck Deposit. Failed. I can’t get past “please validate that the file you uploaded contains the back image” error. It happened with several different scans on 3 different browsers. Looks like something is horribly wrong with the system. Very disappointed after having such good experiences with Ally in the past. Guess I can’t give up my “real” bank yet after all.

    This needs to be just a 30 second process with an iPhone app where I can snap a picture of the front and back and be done with it.

    • 104

      Thanks for your feedback, Michael. Our team is looking into the issue and we’ll have an update for our community as soon as possible. Until then, please give our Ally Care team a call 24/7 at 1-877-247-2559 and they’ll help you with your issue. Thanks again!

  42. 105

    Same here with the “Please validate that the file you uploaded contains the back image.” error message. I understand the difficulties with developing a web application like this, but this is a very important feature and ANY downtime can make or break an online-only institution like this. Please fix this ASAP.

    • 106

      We appreciate your feedback and support, Jake. Passing this along to our team over here. In the meantime, we’d love to help you out. Please give our Ally Care team a call 24/7 at 1-877-247-2559 and we’ll have someone help you with your issue. Thanks and let us know if you have any other questions.

  43. 107

    I was also getting the same error “Please validate….” I called Ally and they gave me a work-around to help get my check accepted. I had to scan the back of my check in color (still 300dpi) then, before I uploaded the image to ally’s website, I manually changed the color back to greyscale (or black and white). After that it had no problem recognizing my check image. Hope this helps!

  44. 109

    I’m having problems with the system recognizing the BACK of my check. This has been a problem for months. How long does it take to fix this? Chase and Citibank have deposits by a camera-phone snapshot. This software isn’t working.

  45. 110

    I continue to get the “Please validate…” error when I try to upload the back of the check too. PLEASE FIX THIS. It’s been weeks. This is the third time that this system has not worked; before Ally released this, I raved about Ally. Now I find myself watching commercials for other banks that offer a similar service and think, “Maybe I should switch…”

  46. 111

    In typical Ally fashion, echeck deposit still is not working after waiting weeks for resolution. I’ve also already talked to support and their response is “this is a known issue with no resolution date. you can mail us the check for deposit.”

    Well guess what, i don’t want to have to mail my check! This is an online-only bank but your online services don’t work!

  47. 112

    Is there a money limit of the check amount to be deposited? I thought someone said $2500. Help as I sometimes have checks over this amount.

    • 113

      Brenda, our daily limit is $10,000 per day and a total of $25,000 every 30 days for the Ally eCheck Deposit feature. If you have any questions or additional concerns, our great Ally Care reps would be more than happy to help you out. You can reach them 24/7 at 1-877-247-2559.

    • 115

      We normally accept an item if it was simply rejected from another financial institution; however, if the item was returned, it is actually an Image Replacement Document and those are not accepted via our Ally eCheck Deposit service.

  48. 116

    I am also having the same problem with the same error message about the back of the check. If this isn’t resolved very soon I am switching banks because this is the only way for me to add money to my account and no I am not mailing in my checks. Please try to fix this its been weeks!!

    • 117

      We’re sorry for the inconvenience, Liz, and this issue is being corrected. Please give the Ally Care team a call 24/7 at 1-877-247-2559 with any questions.

  49. 118

    I am also having the same problem with the back of my check. The front and back images are perfect – I even used the little dots in all four corners. While the front image always works, the back image never does. I continually get: “Please validate that the file you uploaded contains the back image”

    FIX THIS!!!

    • 119

      Mike, our team is aware of the issue and it is being corrected. We’ll have an update for our community soon. We appreciate your patience, while we work to resolve this issue. Please give the Ally Care team a call 24/7 at 1-877-247-2559 and they should be able to assist you.

  50. 120
    Neil Hunt

    I continuously got the same error, then scanned the back in color and it worked! Try it, maybe you’ll have the same luck.

  51. 122

    Just deposited my first check. Twain on the mac has been obsolete for years, so no scanning wizard.

    I’ve been working in publishing, pre-press, and web design for more than a decade. These are the errors I had to work through today:
    front side–too narrow, can’t see numbers.
    back side–too wide and too tall, image not same size as front.

    I’ve found that Undo-ing right after uploading an image gets rid of any bad guesses the automatic web tool applies. My second deposit using undo and then cropping it myself had much better results.

    • 123

      Thanks for the tip and we appreciate your patience, Zudo. Our team is aware of the issue and we’re working on a solution for our community. We’ll be sure to let you know once we have an update.

  52. 124

    I have found that “grayscale” is not an option on most home based scanners. They either have Color or Black as options for scanning. Black is NOT equivalent to Grayscale. I used to be able to scan in color then using an editing program change it from color to grayscale, but even that no longer works (I get the back side of check is not a usable image error). HOWEVER, my professional scanner at work does actually have a Grayscale setting on it, and if I use that scanner it works perfectly every time and for every size check. I mention this not for other users (though if you can find a scanner with an actual “grayscale” setting make sure you are using that and hopefully you will have the same success as I have), but for Ally tech support to look into in order to get this system working right. Maybe allow us to scan in color to get the quality you desire but change it to grayscale on your end for uploading purposes? There has to be some sort of workaround that you can create on your end to get this working seamlessly?

    • 125

      We appreciate your feedback and tip, Mike and are passing this along to our Ally eCheck Deposit team. Should we update the Ally eCheck Deposit feature in the near future, we’ll be sure to let our community know. Thanks!

  53. 127

    My mom gifted my minor son some money and made the check out to my son. We want to deposit it into a trust account. What is the easiest way to make the deposit to Ally? I saw on your site no 3rd party checks are allowed.

  54. 128

    30 minutes trying to scan in a check for depost – getting the “Check is too wide” error when I try to upload the back. No amount of adjusting seems to fix, it is not a problem with the scan.

    Ally Bank, it might be helpful if you put a little information about this problem on this page instead of just referring customers to a phone queue.

  55. 130

    I’ve used eCheck Deposit successfully in the past, now I am getting this “Check is too wide. May need better crop.” error every single time, on the check front. The crop is perfect, and all scan settings are what Ally recommends.

  56. 133

    Ally does not tell you your first e-check will be held for 10 days.But it is apparently in the deposit agreement.

    Now they are holding my money hostage for 10 days – these are not small checks either – it’s my paycheck. I now can’t make rent, can’t pay my credit cards, or any other bills.

    Tell me how again that this was an improvement to my old bank?

  57. 135

    This tool is infuriating. There are a year’s worth of comments here — how are these problems not fixed? I am constantly getting the “your check is too wide” error, and there is nothing wrong with the image. I’ve used this tool before, always with much difficulty getting it to accept the check proportions, but I’ve always been able to eventually get the check accepted. Now nothing works.

  58. 136
    Stephen OBrien

    What is wrong with your check deposit tool?
    “Check is too wide. May need better crop.” This is all I get but yet it’s perfect and i can read every number on the check. In 2013 this is unacceptable It should accept all images and just need to be verified by a human if it can’t automatically read the numbers. Again Unacceptable! More money I will just bring to my local bank!

  59. 138

    It would be a nice feature to see “Pending eCheck Deposits” or something to that effect — a place where you can see your check HAS been received, even if no one has looked at it yet. In an age where you can re-read your sent emails/text messages/etc., it feels awkward having no receipt, no proof I sent my check, until I get an email a day or two later.

    And a question: does the account number have to be on the back of the check if you’re using the iPhone app to deposit? The website is very clear about it being necessary, but the app only told me to sign the check and write “For Deposit Only”. I didn’t see the instructions on the site until I’d already sent the check.

    • 139

      Thanks for the recommendation, Shawn. We have passed that idea along to our product team. To answer your question, it is not necessary to write the account number on the back of the check. As long as your sign your check and write “For Deposit Only”, that is all that is needed. Great question and let us know if you have any others for us.

  60. 140
    David A Carrasco

    Above it stats that the payroll check would be funded the next business day which is not true I have done am echeck PAYROLL deposit on a Thursday before the 4pm cutoff time and my funds are not available till Monday I have called numerous times and issue has not been resolved and all the answer I get is its a federal law why is my payroll check being held till Monday when I make th deposit on a Thursday

  61. 141
    Scott Hills

    I am trying to make a deposit with my iphone 5 (ios7) and have followed the directions. When I am ready to make the deposits, the submit deposit button will not highlight, thus I cannot complete the deposit.

    Thanks for your help

    • 142

      Hi Scott, we apologize for the inconvenience. It should be working fine now. If not, please give us a call 24/7 at 1-877-247-ALLY(2559) or chat with us and someone from our team will be able to help you out.

  62. 143
    Stephen Floyd

    You need to have a button I can click to check on my e-deposit. I can’t find one anywhere and it seems to me that the ony way I will know about my deposit is just to wait till you notify me. If you already have a button like this then where is it? It is not in a place easily accessable to me.

    • 144

      Thanks for reaching out, Stephen. You can check the status of your Ally eCheck Deposit by going to your activity log. In the Ally Mobile Banking app, it’s located at the bottom of the app. On your desktop, it’s located in the upper right navigation. We hope this helps. Please reach out if you have any additional questions.

  63. 146

    Having a major problem with eCheck Deposit using my iphone. After 6-7 tries, I have no choice but to mail the check. It keep saying that we couldn’t recognize some of the information on your check image(s) I followed the instruction, placed the check on black clothes, flat surface, held camera directly over the check and ensured all four corners are visible. Is it because the check is corporate check? This is a big problem!

  64. 147
    Ward Burns

    Tried to deposit a check today. I scanned the check and carefully cropped it out. I upload the front and back of the check then Ally’s system shows what is uploaded. Ally’s system has recropped the check. My signature is completely cropped off the back of the check. I also tried to use the Android app and it also did not work. After trying for 90 minutes I am giving up and hoping you someday hire a programer that know what they are doing.The system seemed to work better two years ago before you “improved” it.

Leave a Comment